Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Engine coming out, what to do while it's there?

Search this Thread

Old 05-24-2006, 01:07 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Engine coming out, what to do while it's there?

Newbie Alert!

Hi guys, I have an '01 SS M6 that I recently bought. I was told by a dealership that I have a rear main leak and an oil pan leak. I spoke to a performance shop in my area who recommends pulling the engine to fix both leaks (does this make sense?)

He also said that while it's out, now would be the time to do any motor mods I have in mind. I told him that I'm not looking to go wild with the car and that I want to maintain reliability and driveability, to which he recommended an LS6 cam for a modest performance increase at low cost.

Since I'm new to these cars, I would just like feedback from the experts on how all of this sounds (pulling the motor for the repairs, LS6 cam, etc.) I did do a search on the LS6 cam and found reports ranging from a waste of money to being worthwhile.
Old 05-24-2006, 01:19 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

whats your budget look like and what kind of drivability are you looking for?
Old 05-24-2006, 02:49 PM
TECH Fanatic

You can change a cam in the car, sounds like the guy is trying to make some extra cash.
Old 05-24-2006, 03:09 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I don't see why the motor would have to come out for any of that. If the seal is bad on the oil pan you can drop it enough to slide in a new one. The rear main seal can be replaced with the engine still in the car as well.
Old 05-24-2006, 03:52 PM
8 Second Club

Yeah, on an M6 car especially, it's easy to get the trans out to fix the rear main and like someone already said you can drop the oil pan enough in the car to replace the gasket.
Old 05-24-2006, 06:04 PM
Teching In