Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

TC and Cam, Hand in Hand?

Search this Thread

Old 06-09-2006, 01:36 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default TC and Cam, Hand in Hand?

Alright I'm a little new to cams and converters but I've read tons of posts and the sticky plenty of times trying to decide which setup I would want. I have an 2000 a4 formula with pacesetter headers, y pipe, and slp loudmouth, and soon to come an ls6. My main questions are why is it necessary to have a higher stall with a cam, and is it necessary?? I've heard if too high of a STR you'll burn rubber out the whazzoo and my tires wouldn't be able to handle it (eagle f1's) But I also heard that a cam helps to lower torque at the low end. So how necessary is it to get a TC with a cam, and second what exactly will a higher stall do for me?? Any info on the topic is appreciated I searched but couldn't find many topics relating the two, if you know of some please post. One big mess over here, THANKS!
Old 06-09-2006, 02:41 PM
Launching!

A higher stall torque converter allows you engine to rev higher before transfering the torque to your transmission & tires. This allows your engine to be in it's power band from the very start rather than having to wait for the car to speed up first. This equals better acceleration and generally a bigger improvement in 1/4 mile times than a cam alone will give (depending on many variables such as traction, gear ratio, cam selection, Etc.). As such, a TC is generally recommended before a cam (but you need to know what cam you are going to install to pick the right TC).