Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

installing a electric cutout

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2006, 08:52 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default installing a electric cutout

whats the best cutout? how and who could install the electric cutout? Im new to this whole electric cutout. TIA
Old 07-12-2006, 09:47 PM
TECH Fanatic

if you do a search in this forum, you should come across a few different debates and polls... the cliff notes version is that you can choose between QTP, McCord powerplate & DMH...they all have their issues with failing. i would go with the company that offers the best warranty/customer service as it seems to be hit or miss with these things across any manufacturer's line. (it seems there is more bashing of the QTP's, but i think it's just because there are a ton more of them out there than the others, so naturally that will happen...then again this could just be ignorance speaking but i would imagine that the failure % is close to their competition)

i'm going QTP since they are close to me and one of their employees is an active member on the local boards so i can always beat his head in if something happens with mine

you'll probably want the cutout welded in under the rear passenger seat area where the indentation in the floor is...give the electric piece to the shop doing the welding so they can maximize clearance, but don't have them install it because i guarantee they will not want to wire it up and therefore they will not be able to test it. when you go to wire it, you can use the rubber grommet in the floor of the car in the passenger back seat area to get the wires into the car. then you'll want to run them under the carpet or under the plastic molding to the dash or wherever you are mounting the switch
Old 07-12-2006, 09:51 PM
TECH Senior Member