Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Running hot at higher speeds...

Search this Thread

Old 07-15-2006, 01:41 AM
10 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Running hot at higher speeds...

Yes, I did search in case anyone wonders. I'm also pretty mechanically adept in life, I do it for a living. But this one has me stumped.

Recently, my car was running hotter than normal around town and at highway speeds. To remedy this, I bought and installed a brand new LT1 (SLP HD) radiator. The car currently has a mix of Dex-Cool, distilled water, and Redline Water Watter. Everything has been bled and completely topped off, and I do not run the A/C (although I do have it and it works).

Here's what I notice:

Startup and initial driving: 165-175*
Cruising under 70mph: 175-185*
Cruising 70-80mph: 190-195*, and it quickly gets there
Cruising 80mph+: 200-220*

This is under 1/3 or less throttle, and once I reach these temps, they usually stabilize around 190* when if stopped at a light or under lighter speeds. It used to be that the car never reached above 180* even on the hottest days. The only mods performed recently are the LPE/Weiand intake, ported 6.0L heads, and a rebuilt 4L60E.

Yes, my air deflector is still intact. This is a recent issue (thus the new radiator). I run a 160* t-stat (four years old), the above-mentioned coolant mixture and radiator, and nothing more.

Why does my coolant temp increase in direct proportion to my cruising speed, the not go back down very much? This is annoying as all hell, and this is not "normal" as some of my friends like to think it is. I know my car, I know how it runs and how it's performed in the past, and this is not right.

What I'm looking at doing:

Removing the thermostat
Removing the fan cut-off at 65mph
Draining and refilling my cooling system with more water, less coolant, and Royal Purple ice ****