Automatic Transmission 2-Speed thru 10-Speed GM Autos | Converters | Shift Kits
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Might Buy Car w/ TH400, Few Questions.

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-2006, 10:34 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Might Buy Car w/ TH400, Few Questions.

Hello

Looking to buy a car with a reverse pattern/trans braked TH400. I've been searching every where and had most of my questions answered, and there were alot because this is my first time even reading about it.

I know the shift pattern is P R N 1 2 3 and upshifting is the easy part to get...but

1. To get reverse to engage do you have to use the trans brake?

2. From what i've read, downshifting at highspeeds is a no no, but it gets complicated...its okay to shift the car from 3rd to 2nd as long as some throttle is given and after the gear is engaged give the trans a second to hook?

3. Coming to a stop at a light, you can downshift to second around 35 mph, then at a complete stop go to first or you can just coast from 3rd, stop, then just push up twice to get back to first, right?

I really tried to figure these things out, and its probably a simple concept, but I am just a bit thick. Anyone who can help me out, thanks to you big time.
Old 07-19-2006, 12:37 AM
TECH Resident

Originally Posted by js3324
Hello

Looking to buy a car with a reverse pattern/trans braked TH400. I've been searching every where and had most of my questions answered, and there were alot because this is my first time even reading about it.

I know the shift pattern is P R N 1 2 3 and upshifting is the easy part to get...but

1. To get reverse to engage do you have to use the trans brake?

2. From what i've read, downshifting at highspeeds is a no no, but it gets complicated...its okay to shift the car from 3rd to 2nd as long as some throttle is given and after the gear is engaged give the trans a second to hook?