Advanced Engineering Tech For the more hardcore LS1TECH residents

Mirconite vs REM Polishing and Cryo?

Search this Thread

Old 08-24-2006, 05:23 PM
10 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Mirconite vs REM Polishing and Cryo?

Mirconite vs REM Polishing and Cryo?

What is the difference in the process of Mirconite and REM Polishing tranny and ring/ pinion gears?
Which is better?
Which will reduce more drag and free up more HP?

Also what is your thought about Cryo?
Pro and con’s for all?
Old 08-25-2006, 09:07 AM
TECH Apprentice

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I believe that micronite is an abrasive slurry, whereas REM is a chemical process. I have some experience with both, and for what I've seen and heard they seem to achieve the same result.
Old 08-25-2006, 10:40 AM
UNDER PRESSURE MOD

Received 13 Likes on 10 Posts

I heard the hype about Micronite while on the power tour. They claimed a typical GM 10-bolt ring and gear micronited freed up an additional 15hp and 15 tq. If that's true, that's a damn good hp/$ mod considering the cost is around $300 I beleive + install costs.
Old 08-26-2006, 08:59 AM
10 Second Club

What if any difference in performance between Micronite and REM?
Which is a better process for reducing drag?
Old 08-26-2006, 03:28 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

this could be very wrong, VERY, plz correct me if i am wrong

i believe that mikronite is a finishing process used to reduce temps, when i called and spoke with amber and joe@t56rebuilds.com, they said they would recommend that kind of thing for road racers and autocrossers that are gonna be in the high rpms alot. not sure on a power increase or a strength increase, i would have to dig deeper into the subject.

cryo is a process that actually strengthens the gears in the transmission by freezing them to like 300 below zero and then heating them back up i believe. I believe that this process straightens out the molecules in the gear itself and makes for a stronger unit.