New LS1 Owners - Newbie Tech Basic Technical Questions & Advice
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

what good is a tune up? steering noises anyone?acceleration?

Search this Thread

Old 10-10-2006, 03:53 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default what good is a tune up? steering noises anyone?acceleration?

Hi helpful people of ls1tech.com! I'm a newbie. I gave three questions if you guys/ladies don't mind:

1. What good is a tune up? what can it do for your car? does it boost performance? does it make acceleration better?

2. How can I make my acceleration better? i mean in the simple stock way. w/o nitrous, and new exhausts and stuff like that.

3. Last, my 98 trans am when i steer left at times she makes wierd steering noises, sometimes thugging when i steer sharp left. and same goes when i steer right but not as common as when i steer left

Thanks I appreciate all relies.
Old 10-10-2006, 05:05 PM
TECH Fanatic

a tune up won't give you mroe power..it'll just help you recover power that you have lost. The spark plugs in these cars are good for around 100k, same with wires. Just change the oil every 3k, rear at 50k and tranny at 100k and your good to go.

Any mods will help in going faster, but do you want to launch harder? Have a higher trap in the a/m...ect Also, what is your budget?

power steering pump on these cars sucks..horribly, most likely your problem.
Old 10-10-2006, 05:31 PM
TECH Apprentice