LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

How bad is it?

Search this Thread

Old 11-11-2006, 06:20 AM
12 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How bad is it?

Have zero compression on cylinder #3. How can I determine if it's valve seats or rings causeing this problem. Motor only has 33,000 miles on it and of course it's out of warranty.
Old 11-11-2006, 07:23 AM
TECH Regular

pull the head on that side and check your valve movement in the seat. Look in the cylinders to see if there are scratches in them or maybe piston movement. I would be more help for you but right now I just got off owrk from 11 pm to now.
Old 11-11-2006, 08:52 AM
12 Second Club

I'm no mechanic, but I bought a GM 3 volume tech manual set and I've been doing a lot of reading. I think the first thing I'll do is pull the valve cover and check the RR and spring for that cylinder. If that looks okay, in comparison to the others, I'll see if pulling the heads is something I can handle. I don't think taking it apart will be a problem, it would be challenging to put it all back together adjusted properly is where I lack confidence. Maybe I should just return the new cam, rr, springs, retainers and keepers that I just bought and pull the heads and send them to LLoyd Elliot or someone like that. Then all I'd have to do is bolt them on and attach intake and figure out how to install the cam.
Old 11-11-2006, 09:11 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Well you could find someone with a fibre optic camera, like what Swat and Doctors use to peek into small places. Then pull the spark plug and take a gander inside. See if the piston has a hole or what not. Sounds like it's a stuck valve or a melted piston.