Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Oil leak after cam swap

Search this Thread

Old 11-30-2006, 04:38 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Oil leak after cam swap

I've noticed after I swapped the cam in my Vette I have a leak on the passenger side. I can't quite pin point where it's coming from but it has to be from the timing chain cover. It won't leak a drop on the ground but I notice the back of the car has film on it after a long drive. I also noticed the passenger side header has burnt oil on it. I have been putting this off for a few months and now it's bothering me. It's not a bad leak, only loses a half of a quart per 100 miles. What's the easiest way to fix it? Do I really have to remove the timing chain cover? I was thinking I might be able to loosen all the cover bolts, apply gasket sealer on the oil pan, then tighten the oil pan bolts followed by the perimeter bolts. I'm trying to find a way to do it without taking the balancer/pulley off. I hate to have to pull the steering rack out and it's a bitch getting that pulley on and off.
Old 11-30-2006, 11:10 PM
On The Tree

Are you sure it's from the the timing chain cover? Did you make sure you had both the oil pan gasket and timing chaing cover gasket lined up before you torqued the bolts back down? It sounds like you ight of got the gasket pinched just a little bit. Just take Saturday and fix it, you will feel much better when you drive and espically when you have your foot in the throtle.
Old 12-01-2006, 06:06 AM
On The Tree

It didn't leak before the the cam swap so it has to be the timing cover. It's very hard to find the leak on a Vette. Thanks for the advice, anyone else?
Old 12-01-2006, 07:28 AM
9 Second Club

Yeah, put any RTV sealant on each corner of the pan and put the cover back on.
Old 12-01-2006, 08:29 AM
Staging Lane

Originally Posted by Turbosixx
It's not a bad leak, only loses a half of a quart per 100 miles.
EEEK! I would hate to hear about a bad leak!