Working as a server (Restaurant)

Search this Thread

Old 02-06-2007, 02:38 PM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Working as a server (Restaurant)

I'm looking for advice from someone who did/does work as a server. Red Robin by Drink Houston is hiring servers. I work 40 hours a week right now for Securitas, but won't get the OT they said I would so I'm looking for a second job to possibly move in to.
I've never served before, but I've spent 4 years in customer service, and I'm intelligent enough to pull it off.
I know they don't pay minimum wage (Law says they have to pay up to minimum wage if your tips don't cover it, but restaurants rarely do anyway.) but how did you guys do in tips? And it doesn't necessarily HAVE to be Red Robin, I just know they're hiring.
Any ideas? Tips? Any other restaurants in the West or NW area of Houston that might be hiring?
Old 02-06-2007, 02:48 PM
On The Tree

I used to be a line cook and it was the hardest ******* job becuse if you aint cooking and moving you getting yelled at by the manger becuase the guess is bitchin. but my girlfriend worked as a server and it was iight. The only thing good about it is that you have money all the time and if you a good server you start to get the regulars who come and and only want you than you make money.
Old 02-06-2007, 03:14 PM
TECH Regular

I got a headache trying to read what the kid above me wrote "and all dat ya noes".

My best advice is find a small family owned place that has higher income clientele. I work 15-20 hours a week (at max!) and bring home 400 a week pretty easily. That includes coming in and setting up and closing down/sidework. If you can find the right situation (85% of are customers are repeat once a week to once every two weeks) and I'm on a first name basis with the majority of them as well. I have never had a tip less than 18% from the regulars and never walked with less than 100 bucks on a fri/sat night.