General LSX Automobile Discussion Non-technical LSX related topics.

do you lose hp or gain it with a CUTOUT?

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2007, 07:46 PM
12 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default do you lose hp or gain it with a CUTOUT?

i have a full exhaust with a cutout..when its open and i floor it, it may just be me, but it feels somewhat slower..Do you lose power or gain it from a cutout..i thought u lose it cuz theres no back pressure..
Old 02-09-2007, 07:50 PM
TECH Enthusiast

definately gain.. it wouldn't make sense why it would feel slower.. a guy with a 99' z28 with similar mods as you and QTP headers gained 8-9hp on a dyno before/after using cutout.

think about what its doing, seems logical it would always make power.

you probably are just used to the pressure feeling the catback made?

I'm no expert tho.

Last edited by Finite1; 02-09-2007 at 07:58 PM.
Old 02-09-2007, 07:52 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

It's just you. What you're going to gain by bypassing your magnaflow will be on the order of 5-10hp (10 being pretty optimistic). The best of drivers simply are not going to feel a 10hp difference in a 300rwhp+ vehicle.

And you don't need back pressure to make power. Taking advantage of exhaust scavenging can increase hp within a certain RPM band, but that isn't the same as backpressure, and that's dependant on the design of your headers, and will not be affected by a cutout.
Old 02-09-2007, 08:07 PM
12 Second Club

either way... it sounds like **** anything above 3k
Old 02-09-2007, 08:32 PM
Banned

lol i thought i was the only one that felt that... i have mac mids, ORY, and a hooker catback with a QTP cutout, def. feels a tad slower with it open, but track times are the same... so maybe it just kills torque, yet increasing hp a tad.

BTW, how does it sound like **** above 3k? mine sounds amazing above 3k, its BELOW 3k where it sounds like ***, raspy and everything.
Old 02-10-2007, 01:26 AM
TECH Fanatic