Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

High octane timing tuning

Search this Thread

Old 03-06-2007, 07:09 PM
10 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default High octane timing tuning

My high octane table is pretty screwed up from the shop that had previously tuned my car. I'm trying to get it straigened out, but am not exactly sure how. The tuning FAQ's that I've read say add 5* to the stock table and check for knock. If you have knock, go and take timing out of those area's. This is fine, but it is not what I have seen in the tunes that I have seen.
Examples:

Stock '01 Timing table:

Timing table from a mail order tune done by a sponsor I downloaded:

And the difference:

Obviously the tuner did not just add 5* to the entire table. What is the proper way to determine where to add timing and where not to? What needs to be logged to determine this.

Obviously I am new to tuning. I'm trying to get a grasp on the proper way to do things.

TIA,

Craig
Old 03-06-2007, 07:21 PM
TECH Addict

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

What mods do you have done? I'm guessing a cam at least. Usually, 27* is a good place to start for WOT assuming fueling is in a good spot. I like to blend it in though, not just add in 10* right off the bat. If you have a stall, it really won't matter that much. But, if it's locked up and hits some of the lower cells, it could feel like it fell on it's face. I posted my timing table in another thread (in HPT format even...thanks to EFILive's conversion tool). If you have Excel, you can see where it's at. (mods = 232/238 cam w/ P&P'd 241's) timing.xls
Old 03-06-2007, 07:31 PM
10 Second Club

Yeah, I have a 233/239 cam w/ a 4000 stall.

I see that you didn't just add 10*. I don't really understand how you say you blended it though. Some places you added quite a lot of timing, other places you made no changes. How do you pick and choose where to add timing?
Old 03-06-2007, 07:55 PM
TECH Addict