General Maintenance & Repairs Leaks | Squeaks | Clunks | Rattles | Grinds

2000ss Window Motor problem?

Search this Thread

Old 03-11-2007, 07:20 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2000ss Window Motor problem?

Hey I'm very new to LS1 and I have had mine for about 3 weeks and it has run great but when I bought it the driver and passenger side window roll down very slowly and come up even slower. Eventually they stop going up and it takes it a couple seconds before it will go back up. I took it to a mechanic just to make sure it was the window motor, and not some electrical problem. He stated it was the motor, but quoted 330$ per window. So I ordered the motor myself and I was looking for a good install guide in an attempt to do it myself. I didn't see any thread so I was wondering If anyone has any input as to a good walkthrough or fix? This newbie would greatly appreciate it. Thanks in advance everyone.
Old 03-11-2007, 07:28 PM
Copy & Paste Moderator

Received 187 Likes on 141 Posts

https://ls1tech.com/forums/showpost....1&postcount=18
Old 03-11-2007, 07:29 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Here's a great write-up on it:

http://shbox.com/page/windowmotor.html

Good luck and just take your time. You save a shitton of money doing it yourself. I did it a few years ago on my Z34 and it cut my hands up pretty bad but only cost me like $60.
Old 03-11-2007, 08:07 PM
Launching!

happens too frequent with these cars
Old 03-12-2007, 12:27 PM
Teching In

Thanks a bunch guys I really appreciate the feedback. The motors come in tomorrow so I'll let you guys know how it goes. Thanks again.
Old 03-12-2007, 12:55 PM
Staging Lane

Maybe I'm just too freakin cheap, but I just fixed my passenger side motor this past weekend- for free.

Pull the old motor out using the guide form Shoebox (linked above) and remove the thermal cut-out (bypass it).

I can take no credit for being smart enough to find the thermal circuit, I just found the discussions here:
Bypass instructions #1