Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

I'm confused. HPTuners gurus help please

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2007, 04:39 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I'm confused. HPTuners gurus help please

I am trying to tune my idle. I am a newb at tuning by the way. Anyways, I added 2 g/sec across the board for idle because it keeps wanting to die on me after cruising. So I did that and then went for a drive logging STIT and LTIT. Well, I got -.26 #/hr or whatever which ends up being -2 g/sec. So, do I need to take 2 g/sec off now, but it idled like **** like that.

Also, isn't the base idle airflow supposed to be by gear like 1-6? Mine looks like an auto table... gear and P/N. I am an M6, it seems totally messed up to me.
Old 03-18-2007, 04:51 PM
LS1TECH Sponsor

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

LS1's all use the same basic pcm so they are going to have the same tables, just modified slightly to fit the need...m6's & auto's have the same base airflow table.

Idle isnt always cut & dry as to what needs to be done...there are probably 1/2 dozen of common ways to do it...some people log only stit & apply that correction, some people log stit & ltit then add the two together & apply that correction, some people log desired airflow & just apply what you get to the table...not as a correction, just a replacement to the whole table. Also remember idle doesnt completly rely on idle airflow, there are other factors like idle rpm, spark & fueling that come into play Not to mention things like cam size plays a huge roll in how you go about tuning idle.
Old 03-18-2007, 09:04 PM
FormerVendor

Make sure you have your units correct. 1 lb/hr = .125 g/s

It sounds like you have the general idea. There are many, many threads here and on HPTuners site regarding idle airflow. You will probably want to check (alter) your Cracker & Follower settings as well.