Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

Car starting without clutch pedal pressed!?

Search this Thread

Old 05-10-2007, 01:17 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Car starting without clutch pedal pressed!?

The car will start without me even pressing in the clutch. I tried pulling up on the clutch pedal while turning the ignition and it will still turn over. Every once in a while I can get it to not crank. Now I'm no expert at transmissions and clutches and everything....but I'm pretty sure you're not supposed to be able to start the car without the clutch pressed in. Anyone have any idea as to what is going on?! I just had the slave and the master replaced so I have no idea. Any help will be greatly appreciated.
Old 05-10-2007, 01:35 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

You clutch pedal safety switch at the top of the clutch pedal linkage is either bad or misadjusted.
Old 05-10-2007, 03:04 PM
Staging Lane

What happens when it starts....does it take off forward?
Old 05-10-2007, 04:12 PM
BMW ///M Nerd

Originally Posted by Sick14SecV6
What happens when it starts....does it take off forward?
It will if it's in gear and he hits the starter...

Originally Posted by Mike44138
You clutch pedal safety switch at the top of the clutch pedal linkage is either bad or misadjusted.
Bingo. I'd bet the switch is bad. It's going to be dirt cheap to replace it. So I'd go ahead and do it.
Old 05-10-2007, 09:46 PM
Staging Lane

Yup, only takes off forward if its in gear. That's when I first realized it did it and I thought it was just cause it was in gear.

What exactly does the switch do? Could this be causing the clutch to slip alot? And how hard would it be to replace it myself? Any sponsors have this part? Lol, sorry for all the questions.
Old 05-10-2007, 09:53 PM
Staging Lane

Anyone get my last post....I think ls1tech is messing up again...gave me an error when trying to reply...
Old 05-10-2007, 11:54 PM
TECH Regular