Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need help with troubleshooting: engine bogs

Search this Thread

Old 04-28-2003, 01:30 PM
TECH Veteran

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Need help with troubleshooting: engine bogs

Car was running great after a recent dyno. But since Sat the car will "bog" for a split second during normal driving.Almost like all power is lost for a 1/4 second each time. I have a scanmaster and there are no codes. The only odd parameter I can see is timing will momentarily jump from say 35 degrees to 25 degrees during these "bogs". I cant tell if its the pulling of the timing thats causing the bog or the bog making the computer pull timing. It does NOT do this during warm up cycle as far as I can tell.

Only things that have changed since the car was running good was I put in about 7 gallons of VP 104 octane. I may have bad gas...I got it from the local track, it was in a barrel that had only 1/4 left nd there was a huge rainstorm that night. So contaminated gas is a possibilty

Other item was I blew a fuse after tapping into an unused wire that would normally go to the traction control switch. It popped the fuse that controls the guages and auto headlight on. So electrical damage/computer may be a possibilty but unlikely

Other items I can think of off hand are:

* 02 sensors...already been swapped
* crank position sensor..havent tried that yet
* reluctor wheel like PSJ's old motor, but I would think it would do it on startup as well
* Computer...I hope not
* harness...I hope not

Any other ideas? I am in the process of draining the gas and putting in some fresh 93 right now
Old 04-28-2003, 08:06 PM
TECH Fanatic

Default Re: Need help with troubleshooting: engine bogs

i would say that it is a sensor problem. i would recheck the o2s again.. Can that high octane gas mess them up.?????.
Old 04-28-2003, 11:51 PM
TECH Junkie

Received 52 Likes on 43 Posts