Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Launching The M6 On Street Tires

Search this Thread

Old 04-29-2003, 08:44 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Launching The M6 On Street Tires

The more different methods the better. I have been trying to master this for quite awhile now and am really struggling. My best 60 foot to date is 2.28 and its absolutely killing my 1/4 mile times. I know buying sticky tires is the best solution but it seems like cutting consistant 2.0 - 2.1's should be possible on street tires. Everybody else seems to be doing it. I really want to master launching on street tires before buying new ones.

Old 04-29-2003, 09:03 PM
!LS1 11 Second Club

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default Re: Launching The M6 On Street Tires

I'm not a pro, nor is my time awesome, but managed a 2.176 by doing a qiuck, rolling burnout to the beams(no churning smoke at the water box -avoid the water box), then holding rpms at 2200 and feathering the clutch out for the launch. Kept tire pressure at 32. Tried once with lower pressure but got no traction. These tires (the F1's) behave better with more pressure -have had to explain a few times why I'm putting air IN the tires to the ol' timers. Good luck! As for me, just a tick away from the 12's!!!
Old 05-01-2003, 12:36 PM
TWS
10 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Trying to launch on street tires, you are just wasting your time. Passenger car street tires are not engineered for what you are trying to do. Concerns like wet traction, gas mileage, tread life etc. are all more important to the manufacturers than how the 1% of the population that goes to the track are going to like them.

I know I'm not really answering your question, other than to tell you to quit wasting your time, so here's at least one constructive comment: