Generation IV Internal Engine 2005-2014 LS2 | LS3 | LS7 | L92 | LS9

Ms4 Cam In A Heavy Car...........

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-2007, 05:33 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ms4 Cam In A Heavy Car...........

I tried this over in the caddy section but cant get an answer. I am going for a max effort cam only cts-v and really saw some big numbers out of this cam. I dont want too much torque down low because the V's rear end is garbage. Can someone comment on this cam for this application? This is a street car that will be running long tubes, no cats, and cut outs. Thanks for the help, I'm new to cams even though I've ridden in a couple big cammed ls1's

This is my first post so hopefully I can get some help. I have this stuff on the way- Kooks headers, no cats, DMH cutouts, l.a.p.d. dyno tune, UD pulley. I wanted to do the MS4 cam for max power. I was told by texas speed and LG for the g5x4 it would be a good choice. I spent over an hour on the phone with Al over at L.A.P.D. and he said the cam wasnt the best choice because of the weight of the car. He was rattling off everything from bleed off versus compression. I didnt understand a lot of it. I have always loved huge cams and have seen guys putting up huge numbers. I'm not doing heads or anything else to the car, I'll only have it another 2 years. I will have some sticky 19" rubber to go with it. My question is, for this application and me looking for the fastest car light from light, is this cam a good choice? I'm not looking for something small and am willing to put up with surging etc... (Wont happen with a good tune). I gave al the Cam card today and he says he will study the cylinder pressure, bleed off etc and get back to me with this cam or another idea to meet my goals. Anyone have ideas?
Old 06-01-2007, 06:26 PM
TECH Apprentice

had in my goat and loved it. higher rpms is like a vtech honda.
Old 06-01-2007, 06:30 PM
Teching In

Originally Posted by 1bigcam