Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

help with cam

Search this Thread

Old 06-10-2007, 06:11 PM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default help with cam

I amd wanting to put a cam in my car but i really dont know much about them other then they get a lot of power when installed,

i was looking at the magic stick 4 for abotu 400$ and i know install is porbaly gunna be expensive becuase i will need a dyno tune and do i need to buy adition parts with the cam i have been hearing about springs and otehr things liek that can you help me out ? and if you have a cam let me know !

Thanks - Adam
Old 06-10-2007, 06:20 PM
Teching In

Cams vary greatly in what they do, I'm still somewhat new to LS1's (though I'm trying to buy one), but from what I've gathered the Magic Stick 4 is a fairly wild cam, and wouldn't be the best idea if this is your daily driver. A 224 cam may be a safer bet.
Old 06-10-2007, 08:27 PM
TECH Addict

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I have a DD and I specifically wanted a cam for nice power boost (nothing outrageous), nice idle, and great street manners (in the end it's give/get relationship). I had Pat G custom spec something for me. MANY guys on this site (more than I can count) have the TR224 cam as daily driving cams with great results. Good luck.

-J
Old 06-10-2007, 08:36 PM
TECH Addict

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Ok few quick questions,what year f-body, A4 or M6, how much power are you looking for or a specific quarter mile time you trying to hit, is it a daily driver, any current mods to the car? This info will help a ton...
Old 06-10-2007, 10:13 PM
Launching!

caminsky was does the 224 mean is it just the name of the cam?

98z28mass: yes this is my daily driver and a4 ,new intake and cat back slp loudmouth i have now idea what quarter mile time im looking for ,because i havent ever taken it to the track yet but im definetly looking for a nice HP increase maybe around 30-40 hp