Sponsored by:

GTO LS2 package in V6 Bird?

Search this Thread

Old 06-15-2007, 09:30 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default GTO LS2 package in V6 Bird?

Hi guys,

I found a used LS2 package on eBay, and it includes what I think is most of the components needed for a swap on a 2001 Firebird.

You probably think I'm a noob for even considering this. But I love my car, and think it would be badass to have the 400hp sleeper potential. I hate rice, and there's a lot of it to kill where I live.

I think my car is worth like $6. It's a 2001 Firebird with 75k miles.

I don't really want a Trans Am. If I got a new car, 100 more HP wouldn't be worth the 10k to upgrade to a nice WS6.

You're thinking "dumbass, the WS6 has a badass ram air hood, spoiler, leather interior, upgraded suspension, ect" but I don't really care for anything but power. The WS6 is nice but it still wouldn't have a new transmission or engine even if I spent $10 upgrading to one.

I'm probably underestimating the cost of dropping a LS2 in my car. But if this kit includes everything for $8k, and we say $2k for labor, I would have a faster and more reliable car than I would spending $16k (-6k for selling mine) on a WS6, which would probably have around 100k miles.

This kit includes:

LS2
New transmission
A/c Compressor
Power Steering Pump
Alternator
Starter
Exhaust manifolds
All Sensors on Engine
MAF Sensor and plumbing to MAF
Complete from fuel injection to oil pan

So the kit runs about 8k. Could somebody please give me some realization of what other costs in parts are involved? I know the LS2 uses an electrical throttle system, and my car isn't set up for that. How much of a bitch/cost is that?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/05-GT...mZ200117408613

Thanks for any help. And please speak your mind...dont' really care if you want to flame or whatever.
Old 06-15-2007, 09:42 PM
TECH Fanatic