Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

brake help

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2007, 11:41 AM
Launching!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default brake help

As with most things about my car im a complete newb, I know enough around engines and stuff but not too much about brakes and suspension. I need some help on determining my next set of brakes and brake components. Mine are starting to show signs of rust and look bad behind an open wheel. Im also thinking about doing a C5 conversion to clean up the overall look too. My questions is this: Whats the difference between slotted and drilled rotors? Will one do better then the other? Who makes the best quality for an overall price, for front and rear, of around $500? I saw brembo, but dont know a thing about this and wanted to get some info on the situation. Also is a C5 conversion the best thing to clean up the look, or is there something better/not as expensive? I have been told yes, on the C5, but that was by a friend of mine who has about the same car IQ I have so.....

I know this is long sorry but want to get as much info as possible heading in. I tried a search but after about eight pages I gave up. Thanks for the help guys.

Here is a picture so you can see what im talking about:

Monroe
Old 06-20-2007, 12:51 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

https://ls1tech.com/forums/suspension-brakes/353903-brake-faq.html

https://ls1tech.com/forums/suspension-brakes/366446-brake-reviews.html

https://ls1tech.com/forums/suspension-brakes/604066-what-s-best-flat-washer.html
Old 06-20-2007, 02:05 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts

^ after reading that, if you want to just improve the look of the brake rotor/caliper you can paint it.
https://ls1tech.com/forums/suspension-brakes/733036-koni-sa-strano-springs-ss-brake-lines-brembo-rotors-hawk-pads-install-my-review.html
https://ls1tech.com/forums/appearance-detailing/710401-what-color-should-i-paint-my-caliper.html