Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

Spec 3 slipping, weird

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2007, 10:15 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Spec 3 slipping, weird

My spec has been in the car for about 3 months, it was already used before in the car before the automatic conversion, then I converted back to a 6 speed. Anyways, the clutch has been pretty good for the past 3 months minus the shuddering it did under load in a higher gear at low rpm's. Just a few days ago it started slipping bad, I can be in 2nd, 3rd, 4th, or 5th gear at 1900 rpms and give it a little gas to speed up, probably 20% throttle.. the thing just slips and the rpm's go up like i'm driving an auto with a stall. If I downshift and get on it, it will slip like crazy than finally hook,, BUT 1st gear HOLDS, it doesnt slip under full throttle if I start in 1st gear at WOT, I can run through the gears with very little to no slipping. I've never used a kevlar race clutch before I got this car so this is weird to me. Its like this clutch has been a handicap ever since I got it, cant race from a roll, slips at high gears just daily driving unless i'm at 5k rpm's , and its gradually getting worse.

Is this just the sign of it going bad or bad component in the clutch assembly? I plan on getting a spec 2, or something that drives normal but holds better... I cant stand this thing.
Old 07-10-2007, 10:31 AM
Launching!

I had a spec stage II clutch in my STi with 340awhp and it died real quick. My current STi ran the oem clutch with 390awhp and never slipped. For the price ACT or Clutchmasters is a better product.

Nick
Old 07-10-2007, 10:33 AM
TECH Senior Member

I suggest trying a 3+, its a much better clutch than a pucked 3. Drives really good IMO.
Old 07-10-2007, 11:05 AM

Originally Posted by brad8266
I suggest trying a 3+, its a much better clutch than a pucked 3. Drives really good IMO.