Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1st time flycutting. Any tips?

Search this Thread

Old 07-19-2007, 04:31 PM
TECH Resident

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default 1st time flycutting. Any tips?

Alright I was reading the directions and they seem pretty easy. But since this is my first time I would like to hear all the tips so I know what I'm looking and expecting. Thanks

Joe
Old 07-19-2007, 04:46 PM
ЯєŧąяĐ Єl¡m¡иąŧøя ™

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Make sure you put tape over the top of the pistons before grinding.
Old 07-19-2007, 07:00 PM
10 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Always turn it clockwise. We unscrewed the head of my cutting tool by turning backward.
Old 07-20-2007, 03:20 PM
TECH Resident

Thanks fellas for the tips. If you have anymore please post up. THanks
Old 07-20-2007, 05:08 PM
On The Tree

Unlike the above suggestion, I found it easiest to start the cut by turning the cutter counterclockwise.

Since you're hitting the piston at an angle, I found the cutter would bind up really tight when first starting the cut, the cutter just wants to dig in and grab. Once you get a few turns on it and get the path made, it goes pretty easy and smoothly.

As I learned after the first few cuts, I found by running the cutter backwards the first few turns, it would lightly start cutting the path in the piston without binding...then I'd continue cutting normally (clockwise) with much less effort.

My other piece of advice is take your time, do the first piston by hand, just to get a feel of how it cuts, and how quickly the material is removed. It really doesn't take long to cut a .100" deep notch.
I used an air ratchet to spin the cutter, as it's slow rpm and torque limiting are both desirable features compared to using a drill. These cutters were designed to be turned by hand, not high speed drills.

Old 07-20-2007, 05:22 PM
10 Second Club