Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

Front Koni DA broken. Why?

Search this Thread

Old 08-10-2007, 02:48 PM
Launching!

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

Default Front Koni DA broken. Why?

So help me out here. Total noob to anything suspension. I replaced my stock front shocks with Koni DAs and kept the stock spring. The only other things I have done to the suspension is a 32mm front sway.. Also have SFCs and a STB. Well after about 50 miles of normal highway driving there was a loud snapping sound. I was worried so I drove straight home and put the car in the air to take a look. As soon as I had the wheel off the ground the shock came crashing out of its prech and this is what I found:

Right now Im really frustrated with the car. I don't want it to turn into a "I hate my car and want to get rid of it" thread, but seriously.. whenever I spend money on it something breaks. What went wrong here. Help me stop beating my head on the wall and get the car back on the road, please!
Old 08-10-2007, 03:52 PM
TECH Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

If you show us how you had the shock and mounting hardware put together... Then take a picture, it might help.
Old 08-10-2007, 11:19 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Koni's carry a lifetime warranty, but they will probably do everything in their power not to honor the warranty(just like any part co.) If you had them installed in an improper fashion, I doubt very seriously they will cover it.
Old 08-12-2007, 12:04 PM
Launching!

They were installed by a shop.. I'll have to take the other side out and take a look at how they installed them. Could be that they installed them improperly.
Old 08-13-2007, 11:34 AM
LS1TECH Sponsor

Received 130 Likes on 84 Posts