Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

When to tune yourself?...

Search this Thread

Old 08-23-2007, 01:17 AM
TECH Addict

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default When to tune yourself?...

I want to know when you guys think its a good idea to get into tuning your car yourself? I am well read in most aspects of these cars, but I am totally new to the tuning lingo, and the tuning processes and factors. BUT that is exactly why I want to get into it. Is it a waste of time for a guy to get into tuning his own ride if its just a cam-only or head/cam car?..Any advice on a good relatively budget and entry level self tuning system? (Not asking whats "best"....but rather whats a good idea for the novice to look into?) Trying to decide if it is at all cost effective to do some of my own tuning, or if I am way better of just going mail-order.
Old 08-23-2007, 08:34 AM
FormerVendor

Just do it!

Im biased towards EFI Live, but since your starting fresh check out the websites from the 2 major competitors and see what you think will be right for you.

Theres probably no "Best" time to start learning, just read, research, and then start tinkering!
Old 08-23-2007, 08:39 AM
TECH Resident

I waited for too long to start tuning. I should have bought HP tuners 2 years ago. I had my car "professionally" tuned and trusted that the tuner knew what he was doing. When I looked into it I found a good deal of things weren't right. Since starting about 3 weeks ago, I've increased my MPG, throttle response and overall feel of the car dramatically. I'm not ready to take it to the dyno or the track yet but I'm pretty sure there will be gains there as well.

To quote Nike, "Just do it!". Be prepared to learn a LOT!
Old 08-23-2007, 08:58 AM
TECH Junkie

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

like he just said... just do it!
everyone that does it wants you to think its really hard and complex.