LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

LT1 has some problems...HELP PLEASE!

Search this Thread

Old 08-23-2007, 06:14 PM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LT1 has some problems...HELP PLEASE!

OK, a little background info. I'm a tech. for Saturn (only 19 so im no car genius, i just do fuel pumps, reprogram PCMs and BCMs, stuff like that) and one of the Service Writes knew of a girl selling a 1995 Z28 'vert with 96k miles for $3000. So I went and looked at it, it needed a new back window. LOVED the car, so I bought it and took it to have the new window put in it a few days later (cost me $500). Drive it for a day and the fuel pump dies. The girl said that once in a while it would die on her and shed wait a few minutes and it would start right back up and run again. Well, I went and priced a new fuel pump at Autozone, decided to go grab a Walbro 255 from Summit Racing instead sine it was cheaper and I plan on modding it quite a bit later anyways. Put the pump in and the car runs beautifully for 3 weeks. Then me, my girlfriend, and my friend take it to Paris in Illinois to look for a TA for him (30 miles one way). Didn't find anything so we go to Indy (60 mile drive one way). Well, it dies in Indy and I can't get it to run for a good 2-3 hours. FINALLY unplugged the IAT and MAF and it decides to run just fine, so I drive it home (In limp mode). Get it home , clean the MAF the next day with carb cleaner (thinkin its the MAF). Runs fine for 4 days, then it does it again at my other friends house. I take the MAF off, clean it and it runs great until today... It dies again, i unplug the MAF and IAT (no carb cleaner with me) and it wont even try to run. Let it sit for an hour, starts and runs fine with the MAF and IAT unplugged. Get about 3 miles down the road and it starts up again (remember the MAF and IAT are still unplugged) so I just limp it back to my apartment and here I am. I thought it was the MAF but today's incident ruled out that ide