Pontiac GTO 2004-2006 The Modern Goat

2-step my APS Goat

Search this Thread

Old 09-23-2007, 03:53 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2-step my APS Goat

For those of you that dont know me, I have a 2005 GTO with an APS TT system. Pushing 540rwhp/530tq. I have BMR upgraded driveline/axle stubs/cv joints and a slew of other mods. I am mainly drag racing at the moment and launch off of Weld Pro-Stars and M/T ET Streets. The best 60' time I have is 1.79, leading to a 11.568 1/4

Now, I am very interested in making launching slightly easier. I am extremely new to drag racing and I am having a hard time raising the RPMs to 5k to get a good launch and watching the other cars staging and watching my lights go down. I get consistent .4 R/Ts, and occasional .090

I want consitent sub .1 R/Ts, and I hear a 2-step is the way to go, especially for turbo charged cars. Plus it will help me build boost off the line.

My little research has shown that Synergy has made a two-step for our cars and I have read rumors that Harlan was at last trying to develop one. Are there any other two-steps available or being developed? Do you think an average mechanic can do a good install, or should I drop it off at my tuners shop and get it done right? Seems like this is a pretty important aspect that I dont want to screw up. Plus I would like to tune out most (if not all) of the backfiring that is assocaited with a two-step at the line, so I am leaning towards dropping the car off at TTi.

Does anyone have one installed on their Goat? Any help/response is appreciated
Old 09-23-2007, 07:14 PM
LS1Tech Sponsor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

We (Lingenfelter Performance Engineering) have been testing our own 2-step for some time now. We will be releasing them to the public this week (probably Monday the 24th). Cost will be $249.95. Plug and play design - no wire cutting needed.

BTW - our 2-step has been tested an several different model vehicles, including the GTO.

Jason Haines