Automatic Transmission 2-Speed thru 10-Speed GM Autos | Converters | Shift Kits
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Tranny question?

Search this Thread

Old 10-20-2007, 11:08 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tranny question?

I am new to the whole LS engine thing, I have always been a old school kid I guess and went with carb. For my build so far I am going to get a 6.0L Vortec Engine and use the stock crank, whipple supercharger, stock heads ported & polished with a 3 angle valve job, 80mm throttle body, 60lb injectors, ls6 intake, hi flow oil pump, and fuel pump, camshaft with 242/250 @ 50 Duration 114 degree lobe seperation, H beam rods and .030 over pistons. My question is what kind of horsepower to the rear wheels do you think I will develop with a build of this nature? What kind of transmission am I going to want to build to handle that power? I wanted to go 6 speed but after doing some looking around that is definentley not an option. It will be out of my budget!
Old 10-20-2007, 11:17 PM
FormerVendor

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Your engine builder would be better suited to estimate the H/P of that mill than myself.

But, without having an idea of the amount of boost psi you are looking for it is hard to say. I would estimate somewhere around 500 - 550 rwhp.

What is the primary intended use of this vehicle?

What is all of this hardware going into? I'll presume an F-Body..... and then say a well built overdrive is going to be my recomendation. The 4L60E is not going to be overpowered, and would be applicable ifor that engine.But more needs to be known about this combination in order to determine which upgrades are necessary. A 4L80E is an overdrive unit that is the big brother to the 4L60E, it is an overdrive that is based on the old TH400 which you are familiar with I am sure. Either unit will need to be computer controlled if not converter to a manual valve body.

Each unit has advantages and disadvantages.

g
Old 10-20-2007, 11:21 PM