Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

cam swap lifter problem

Search this Thread

Old 01-26-2008, 02:27 PM
11 Second Club

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Default cam swap lifter problem

So im in the middle of my cam swap, following the ls1howto.com guide, since this is my first cam swap, and Im to the point where I have the retainer plate off, and the cam almost ready to come out. Now I bought some 2 foot 5/16 wooden dowl rods like everyone else uses to hold the lifters up, and with them both all the way in, when i spin the cam, it sounds like I can hear a couple of the lifters riding on the cam still. To check, I threw the pushrods back in, and there are a couple that move up and down when the cam rotates, even with the 5/16ths rods all the way in. I dont really know what to do from here, anyone have any suggestions? Im trying not to **** anything up, and this is my first time doing it. I guess if worst comes to worst, Ill just pull the intake. But I really dont want to have to do that. Thanks.

-Lance
Old 01-26-2008, 02:41 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Pulling the intake would be a waste of time & accomplish nothing.. My advise, go buy sixteen little pin magnets & some wooden clothes hangers.
Old 01-26-2008, 03:05 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

You need to spin it fast to sling them up into the lifter trays. I have 80k on my car and figured the trays would be toast but every lifter stayed up for a day untill it came time to install the push rods. I probably spun the cam forwards and backwards 20 times before I took mine out. If this still does not work go the pen magnet route. Just make sure the magnets are secure so they dont stick to the lifter.
Old 01-26-2008, 05:56 PM
11 Second Club

Originally Posted by THE CHOP SHOP
Just make sure the magnets are secure so they dont stick to the lifter.
? I thought you wanted them to stick to the lifter to hold them up?
Old 01-26-2008, 06:26 PM
11 Second Club

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts