Small Block & Big Block Chevy Specific Mouse & Rat Motor Discussion & Conversions

Rebuilding an L05 350 Questions

Search this Thread

Old 02-15-2008, 08:06 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rebuilding an L05 350 Questions

My 19 year old younger brother is rebuilding an L05 350 SBC taken from a 1995 Suburban. He purchased a 0.030" over Federal Modgul premium rebuild kit from Summit. He brought the block to a machine shop to be bored and honed, but I feel like he is getting the run around in some ways with 'superfluous' services this machinist is trying to tack on. I'm an electrical engineer, and I'm friends with some mechanical engineers who are automotive enthusiasts. They all thought it sounded nuts. I wanted to drop a line here on LS1tech, and see if you guys could offer me some advice. Basically this guy wants to charge $100 to remove the wrist pins from the existing pistons with a hydraulic press. He also said wrist pins need to be heated for proper removal and reinstallation (I had never heard that this was necessary if you were using a full hydraulic press). He wants to charge an additional $100 to install the new wrist pins. He said that the connecting rod caps need to be matched to the connecting rods they were on and that someone mismatched them. If they aren't matched, the engine will automatically seize, and it will cost us about $75 for him to perform measurements to find out which rod caps went on which connecting rods (when I heard this, I figured it would be cheaper to just buy new connecting rods). He also says the main caps were mismatched, and they need to be measured for proper reinstallation (again, "or the engine will seize").