Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Pulling the Trigger (DD Cam only) Decision.

Search this Thread

Old 02-17-2008, 01:52 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Pulling the Trigger (DD Cam only) Decision.

Ok. Well I have all the main bolt on's besides the LS6 intake manifold.

I originally want to keep the internals stock, but I want a little more kick in the engine.

This is my daily driver. I just want to go cam only. I know once I install the cam and intake it will all be done. I'm taking my car to ellis to get some motor mounts installed etc so I'll just add the cam install to the task and do it all at once.

Car is a 1999 with Mods in sig.

Keep in mind I read the stickies and understand what a cam does (duh) and the parts of the cam etc, but this is my first time doing this so consider myself a n00b when it comes to the actual application.

My goals with the car:

-It is a daily driver.. so I'm not looking for the "biggest cam". Drivability is a concern, but I can handle a decent sized cam for sure. I don't get bothers by stuff like that too easily.
-I'm looking for good powerband in the midrange. I don't top out my engine a ton and I think power in the mid RMP's is more important.
-I do want a loppy idle, but not choppy as hell.

What do you guys suggest? I hate to say "built it for me" but I would have no idea where to start on adding what valve spring/rockers/pushrods etc.

MY BIGGEST CONCERN: Reliability.

This is my only car and I take care of her to the fullest, so I want to do this right. If it takes twice as long to save up for the parts because I might want some parts better performance/reliability so be it. I'm in college so I can be patient.

The car as 30k miles on it.

So the parts I need:
-Cam
-Pushrods
-Valve springs
-Rockers
-Oil pump

Any other parts I am missing that are highly recommended to replace?