Pontiac GTO 2004-2006 The Modern Goat

Beating on the a GTO - Quick Question

Search this Thread

Old 02-29-2008, 04:18 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Beating on the a GTO - Quick Question

Im fairly new to the LS1 (04 GTO) and was wondering how much of a beating can the car take? Its got 21K miles and is stock...(just bought it!) I never beat on the car or tranny because of fear of "Beating" on the car and lowering the live of the car.

When i say beating on it I mean pushing the pedal past 75% throttle and coming close to red line. No drifting or pealing out . Of course i understand what is beating on the tranny is and what it can cause so I am not worried about that.

For example, at a stop light and lighting the car up though first to third. (M6)
Obviously doing this often will cause damage over time. (Duh) But my question is, the car is engineered to take a beating and maintain itself with out causing problems? I just have a power house and feel a little guilty if the car is opened up to much. What do you guys think?
Old 02-29-2008, 04:37 PM
Teching In

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

The engine and transmission are both pretty bulletproof, with proper maintenance.

You'll wear out clutches, tires, and maybe a rear diff or axle, but the two big pieces should be able to handle the abuse (until you start with the mods).
Old 02-29-2008, 04:42 PM
Staging Lane

Thanks i would hope a LS1 could take a beating but im just playing it safe for the time being. Also i need to improve my manual skills.
Old 03-01-2008, 09:09 AM
Launching!

i have a 06 and i beat it to the ground.. multiple track runs a week, weekly roll races ect... i push her... she holds. keep her in tip top shape... she will stay strong for you... my clutch is the only burden
Old 03-01-2008, 02:21 PM
Staging Lane