Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Checking Pushrods (questions)

Search this Thread

Old 03-01-2008, 11:32 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Checking Pushrods (questions)

I'm going to be taking off the valve covers tomorrow and checking the springs and pushrods. I have never done this before.

I am going to be following the Yella Terra Rocker install over at LS1 Tech. Here is the link for that article:

http://www.ls1howto.com/index.php?article=21

Now, most of it seems extremely simple and very straight forward. I do have a question though regarding the installation of the first set of rockers. In the "how-to", he mentions doing a few things to get the right amount of "Pre-Load" when installing the aftermarket rockers. I believe he is doing this to determine whether or not the shims included with the kit will need to be used.

I am going to be removing the rockers and checking the pushrods, then when I am satisfied...I will be putting all the STOCK COMPONENTS back. I will not be installing any aftermarket rockers/pushrods/springs. All I'm doing is verifying the integrity of the stock parts.

So, this is what I need to know on my end. Since I am working with totally stock components and will be replacing all the stock components, do I need to worry about those steps in the How-To regarding the pre-load? Since I am putting all back together as it was, all I need to do is pull them out, check them, and then just drop the mounting screws back into the rockers and torque them right away to the 22lb specification, right?

Any insight or advice anyone can provide would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
Old 03-01-2008, 11:38 PM
TECH Resident