Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

are agx's right for me?

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-2008, 09:07 PM
11 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default are agx's right for me?

Well i have 100k on my stock shocks and springs, and i need some new shocks bad. I was thinking about konis but the $770 hurts. I wanted konis beacuse of 2 reasons, the front purch mod and there known to be the best shock for a f-body. I dont think i will push the car to notice the differance in the koni or agx's, or is it easy to tell the differance? I have not rode in another f-body with konis, hds or agx so i cant tell what i like. but i am a honda mechanic and mabye it because the cars are newer but the cars feel stable, mine does not. The front and rear dont act as one, i guess that a good way to put it. I like to drive the car normal, ill go to the drag strip, ill cruse the streets, ill go faster then i should on some roads to get the thrill of the car, and i do street race and at 130 this car is scary. Should i got with the agx's?
Old 03-26-2008, 10:18 PM
11 Second Club

i have agx's all around in mine and love them. Set on 8 it corners very well and set them on 1 at the strip and i can cut 1.5 60's spinning.
Old 03-26-2008, 10:34 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

hm. Coming from a 'handling' perspective, the best bang for your buck are Strano Revalves. I got to compete in my '99SS last year w/ the HDs, and they were subpar, but driving a 93 Z28 with revalves, the car was a totally different machine. I was about to order Koni's for my 99 before I sold it, but since you're not into that type of competition, Revalves are an awesome option, surely designed for the car, whereas AGX's are a generic off the shelf shock . Cost differential is minimal between the KYB's and the Revalves also.

Check out your local SCCA clubs; incredible competition and fun.. and legal. Put that beautiful car of yours to work.
Old 03-27-2008, 04:48 PM
11 Second Club