Small Block & Big Block Chevy Specific Mouse & Rat Motor Discussion & Conversions

How to set timing

Search this Thread

Old 03-27-2008, 12:38 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How to set timing

Hey everyone! I'm new here, and I'm a relative noob compared to all you guys. I've been trying to read up on setting timing, but I've tried searches and I can't get an exact answer. I went on MSD's website and I saw the timing advance curves with the different spring and advance bushings. What I'm wondering is, how do you literally bump the timing up or down? The springs make it set to certain degrees, but I see you guys saying "try 36 degrees total then try 38 etc.) What I'm asking is how do you physically adjust the total timing? All I see people say is "use a light and set the timing to 36" (just an example) I don't know how to literally "set" it. I probably sound really childish so I'm sorry for that. Thanks in advance though!
Old 03-27-2008, 03:17 AM
6 & 8 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

My 2 cents. It is very very easy, & usually one of the 1st things guys learn. If you don't know how.
Get a buddy to walk you through it, or at a minimum, get a manual. You can do some major damage working on an engine if you are that clueless. Especially with only 1 post, guys might think this is a joke.
Good luck, & if you're serious, write me direct with your set up. I can give a tip or 2.

Old 03-27-2008, 12:53 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts