Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

Vibrating my teeth at 75+

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-2008, 10:32 PM
12 Second Club

Received 22 Likes on 14 Posts

Default Vibrating my teeth at 75+

Ok, so I just put in the LT1 + T56 + new 10bolt with 4.10s.

So, I head out on the road, 1, 2, 3...about 70-80ish I get a really bad vibration. Put the car up figure out the clamshell on the tailshaft of the transmission isn't bolted together, so I bolted it together and checked the pinion angle while I'm at it.

Now I was kinda low on sleep/stressed, when adjusting the TA I think I saw a +1 on the rearend and a -1 on the driveshaft(looking from the drivers side). Doesn't that mean I have a 0 degrees pinion angle. Shouldn't it be -1(+)?

Anyone have any ideas? Btw, before I took the car off the road I had JUST got the aluminum driveshaft balanced and the wheels also. So I really don't think that's the problem...

I'm lost...
Old 04-11-2008, 01:42 AM
TECH Addict

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

M6 likes a more negative angle. I had mine set to -2 and it would vibrate a lil at high speed. I changed it to -3.5 and it went away. Funny how such a lil change could make such a big diff.
Old 04-11-2008, 11:39 AM
10 Second Club

it sounds like -2 to me (+1 and -1). It makes it easier for me to not worry about the + or the - when reading a protractor, in this regard. It only makes things confusing. It's easier to just count the amnt. of degrees between the 2 measurements ... just make sure you pinion is pointed down as opposed to the driveshaft. Just remember, your axle needs room to "wrap" upward, toward a "0" pinion angle upon hard acceleration.
Old 04-11-2008, 11:39 AM
TECH Addict

Originally Posted by Nick D