Sponsored by:

408 vs. 346 flow needs

Search this Thread

Old 06-13-2008, 07:17 AM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default 408 vs. 346 flow needs

So im having a disagreement with a buddy *famous last words*

my lq4 had GTP Stage 2 heads and a tsp 231/237 cam, fast 78mm intake.

The arguement is that he feels that I will LOSE power with these same parts (minus the intake, im going to a ported 92) on a 408 versus a stock cubed ls1 or my iron 6.0.. anyone?
Old 06-13-2008, 07:37 AM
TECH Enthusiast

I'm no expert; but I don't see you losing power. Probably not optimal; but not going to lose power.
Old 06-13-2008, 09:06 AM
Launching!

Originally Posted by RZRSEDGE
I'm no expert; but I don't see you losing power. Probably not optimal; but not going to lose power.
thats my stance. It will still make more due to increased displacement and will make alot more after I upgrade these at a later date.
Old 06-13-2008, 11:16 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 46 Likes on 31 Posts

OK I'll bite. I'm the buddy.

My stance was that they are still pulling in the same amount of air because the heads will only flow so much. Since they are pulling in the same amount of air, the smaller engine would be able to use it more efficiently and effectively. Much like a turbo. On an ls1 a smaller turbo might make a certain amount of power but that same turbo on like a honda might make more power at the wheels. All because the smaller engine uses the incoming air more effectively.
Old 06-13-2008, 11:36 AM
10 Second Club

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Originally Posted by 1bdbrd