Paint & Body Work Custom Painting | Panel Repairs & Replacement

First time Painting

Search this Thread

Old 07-04-2008, 01:03 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First time Painting

Im gonna start by doing the engine bay on my car since the engines out right now. I have most of the holes filled gonna fill a few more and sand it down. This is my first time ever buying paint or anything like that. Here are my questions.

1. What grit should I start with on the engine bay, then spray primer, then sand with what grit, spray paint,wetsand(grit?)clear, wetsand 1500.

Im trying to get this thing to look really nice. I have limited paint stores around here I have napa,oreillys,car quest.

What supplys should I purchase while im there. Im looking for a complete list of stuff I should grab to get this done and the sizes of everything. I have a hvlp gravity gun.
Old 07-04-2008, 02:11 PM
TECH Addict

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

i sand blasted my entire engine bay with handy sand just because it goes faster. technically it was ready to prime right then and there after a good cleanup. but just for the hell of it i took my 3" d/a with 180 over the whole thing. now its all ready for primer. basically i take a blow gun blow it off extremely good. wax and grease remover everything using one towel to wipe and another to dry(helps prevent solvent pop and fish eye. use a tac cloth right before i prime. then i use my sata primer gun and a pps cup for and prime away. im using spies and hekkers 1 coat wash primer for the bare metal followed by 3 coats of 5310 primer. then sand it down with 400 600 and 800(not neccisary) but for best finish. any burn through spots i use aerosal 1k primer and then base and clear. if you want to seal it you can finish it off with 400 or 600. basically heres a list of what i used.

3m 180 grit for 3" d/a
Spies and Hekker Wash Primer or a 1k primer if you dont have a lot of bare metal