LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

HC too high, RX7 LT1, need to fix ASAP

Search this Thread

Old 07-26-2008, 06:40 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HC too high, RX7 LT1, need to fix ASAP

Hi guys. I'm fairly new to LS1tech. I've installed 93' LT1 w/95'PCM into my 88' RX7 convertible few months ago - that carbed 350 just wasn't cutting it
I could use some help with getting HC little lower.
I'm trying to pass emissions in Denver, CO and can't get hc lower. They are doing rolling test up to almost 60MPH.

On my first attempt faile for CO and HC to high:
HC gpm 5.3894/2.00 limit -failed
CO gpm 71.555/20.00 - failed
CO2 gpm 500.9229
NOx gpm 1.6145 - passed

so I changed o2s because PCM wasn't going into closed loop (they were completly f.....)

Now at my 2nd attempt still didn't pass:
HC 5.2423/2.00 - failed
CO 6.4081 - passed
CO2 604.4354
NOx 1.0951 - passed.
that's with about 3 galons of premium and 6 bottles of heat and 2 degr advanced MSD opti.

What do you guys think I should do to lower HC?
I also have exhaust backfire - that would explain high hc level.
It happends when I let go the gas at 3000 rpm and really bad at 2000 rpm.

Engine is all stock, MSD opti, no EGR, no AIR pump (mocked up on the engine tho), shorty headers, high flow cats, MAGNAFLOW mufflers, true 2.5" dual.

I'M THINKING TO LEAN IT OUT WITH C.A.T.S TUNER.

I have freescan log recorded for those of you whou would like to look it up.

Please help me.
THANKS

Last edited by Skalarrs; 07-26-2008 at 08:37 PM.
Old 07-27-2008, 01:11 AM
Launching!