Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

F-body Procharger users......overheating in traffic?

Search this Thread

Old 08-10-2008, 09:07 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default F-body Procharger users......overheating in traffic?

As I am studying up on Prochargers for F-bodies, I am coming across quite a few people that tend to have water temp issues when running prochargers. Apparently it has to do with removing the 2 oem fans and replacing them with one bigger fan on one side. They seem to get by ok when not running the AC in traffic but..... down here in Houston, its hot as all hell and constant traffic so.....

I just want to see which if any of you guys here at LS1tech have had overheating issues with procharger kits, particularly with FMICs. I am sure 160* stats and early fan activation will help some but I don't want to be dealing with overheating issues when idling with the AC on. Is there no way to make the oem fans work with the procharger or is clearance just too tight?
Old 08-10-2008, 09:12 PM
TECH Veteran

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

well i once added a fan to the front of the condensor that turned on with the single fan and it worked out well
Old 08-10-2008, 09:21 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Originally Posted by robsquikz28
well i once added a fan to the front of the condensor that turned on with the single fan and it worked out well
Was that with a FMIC or the twins? Must be twins as I don't see a fan fitting between the radiator and a FMIC.

I am wondering if you can squeeze a second fan on the left side abeit a small one, like maybe a fan off of a hayabusa or 1000, those fans are small but pull tons of air.
Old 08-10-2008, 09:30 PM
Launching!