Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

Replacing rear shocks..? Air shocks

Search this Thread

Old 09-10-2008, 09:51 PM
11 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Replacing rear shocks..? Air shocks

Hey guys.

Well I recently spent a decent amount of money to put KYB shocks in and coil springs because I had QA1 coil overs and my rear would constantly hit the bump stops hard when i hit a bad bump. and now it STILL does it. It's pretty bad, the sound and feel of it goes right through you.

On my old camaro I had the same problem. So i'm either going to: A) Put in air shocks, or B) put in drag bags which are inflatable bags you put in the coil spring.

I've never done shocks before but I have heard the rears are really easy.
If i'm just doing shocks, don't I just have to raise the back up, take the wheels off, unbolt from the top, and unbolt from the axle, and take the shock out and replace? Or do I need to take the spring out or anything else?

Thank you
Old 09-10-2008, 09:57 PM
TECH Addict

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

You don't need to remove the wheels.

http://ls1howto.com/index.php?article=8
Old 09-10-2008, 09:58 PM
TECH Fanatic

You don't even need to take the wheels off (probably have more room if you do though). Just support the back (jackstands on frame), jack up the rear end to full compression, undo the top shock nut, slowly lower the rear, and remove the lower shock bolt. That's it.
Old 09-10-2008, 09:58 PM
TECH Fanatic

Originally Posted by 94'BLKBRD
You don't need to remove the wheels.

http://ls1howto.com/index.php?article=8
Beat me to it!
Old 09-10-2008, 11:15 PM
11 Second Club

k so jack the car up and put some jack stands under.. Then I put the jack directly under the rear end? How much do I jack up into the rear end?

Thanks guys
Old 09-11-2008, 01:24 PM
TECH Addict

Originally Posted by 98 WS6