Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Engine running Super Hot!!!!

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-2008, 12:08 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Engine running Super Hot!!!!

Ok, I have a parometer on my #1 cylinder header, the temperature heading after my 6.4 1/8 mile pass is showing 1532 degrees. I know that aluminum melts at 1425, I do have all forged internalls, however its still aluminum. My question is do I need to start running the motor a litter more rich on the fuel side and if so how much, take a look at my HP Tuners tune here and tell me what you think, I have got it at 1.517 all the way through 4800 RPMs but drop it down a tad to 1.473 starting at 5200. Any help or opinions would be appreciated. Any questions about my setup check out my Sig.
Thanks
Attached Files
File Type: hpt
new camaro tune.hpt (449.0 KB, 56 views)
Old 09-14-2008, 07:25 PM
TECH Addict

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Im not good with hp tuners but a pyro meter in the 1 one bank will it give you a good reading overall for the motor? Also what afr do u run? And i guess you can fatten it up a bit.
Old 09-15-2008, 08:53 AM
FormerVendor

One thing, I would want to confirm the temp reading. You might want to check with high range IR thermometer and/or consider moving the pyrometer to a different location for a second opinion. 1532 does sound little high. Was this running the juice?

The other thing, just because you are commanding a given AFR doesn't mean that is what you are getting. Have you confirmed your actual AFR? Seems like you should be rich already.
Old 09-15-2008, 09:22 AM
TECH Fanatic

Get a wide air/fuel sensor. 200.00 then you will know a/f ratio.
Old 09-15-2008, 01:15 PM
On The Tree