Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

Nice Set of Twins

Search this Thread

Old 09-16-2008, 11:34 AM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Talking Nice Set of Twins

Well, I was going to hold off on this post until I was actually getting into my project, but Im bored on my lunch break and Ive had this on my mind for the past 3 days now, so here it goes.

Im building a BMW with an LS2/T56 swap. Im not building a drag car, nor an auto-x or road course car. Its going to be a high power FUN street car that has the ability to do all those things, but will not be built with anything specific in mind other than to put a smile on my face.

My background is mostly with Syclones, Typhoons and Turbo Buicks. Ive owned my Typhoon for 8+ years now and it currently has a PTE-52 turbo, custom downpipe, chip, ect ect.

Being that Im mostly familar with single turbo automatics and I haven't found exactly what Im looking for in terms of someone elses build to go off of reguarding street friendly twin turbos with a 6-speed. Ive read most every thread by searching "twin turbo" and "twin turbos" on the forum, as well as the stickies and checking out some of the vendors kits that are available for F-bodies and GTOs.

So with that, Ill get the nitty gritty already.

My goal is 700 - 800 BHP running 15 - 20 PSI.

I've already bought HP Tuners Software since I needed it for another project already, and meth injection is not out of the question.

I definately want to go with a ball bearing turbo and I have been eyeing up the GT35R with either .82 A/R or 1.06 A/R (this is something Im not 100% sure about, but I was feeling the .82 A/R would be the right one).

If I was going single turbo Id probably be a little more confident in my decision making, but Im not sure if I should read things like I have 1 turbo on 3.0L of engine or not.