LS4 Performance Grand Prix GXP | Monte Carlo SS | Impala SS | LaCrosse Super

dirt in radiator overfill bottle, what to do?

Old 06-05-2011, 12:12 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default dirt in radiator overfill bottle, what to do?

i just bought a 2008 impala ss from a dealer i've used before. stupid me, based on trust, i did not look at fluids in the car like i normally would. when i got it home, i checked the levels, and found red clay dirt in the overflow bottle. now i am not a mechanic so i'm hoping some gurus here will help me out. if this dirt has circulated through the cooling system, what am i looking at damage wise? will a thorough flush and fill take care of it, or am i at risk of other parts like the water pump going out? i just bought the car on the 2nd of June. I really like the car, should i try to return it all together or just demand they pay for the flush and fill?
thanks in advance
Old 06-05-2011, 12:19 PM
Staging Lane

Is it almost like a sticky substance if you rub it between your fingers? Dexicool coolant breaks down in the system and causes that, its in my trans am a bit as well, but from what I know its a brownish color, not red.

Either way you gotta drain it, flush it, and refill.
Old 06-05-2011, 12:29 PM
Teching In

Originally Posted by Scott97LT1
Is it almost like a sticky substance if you rub it between your fingers? Dexicool coolant breaks down in the system and causes that, its in my trans am a bit as well, but from what I know its a brownish color, not red.

Either way you gotta drain it, flush it, and refill.
no, this is definately dirt. it's at the top of the overflow bottle neck and top. here in mississippi we have red clay dirt. the previous owner must have had an emergency and pulled water out of a river or lake.
Old 06-05-2011, 12:35 PM
Staging Lane