LS4 Performance Grand Prix GXP | Monte Carlo SS | Impala SS | LaCrosse Super

2007 Impala SS Engine Removal procedures?

Search this Thread

Old 10-24-2014, 07:49 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2007 Impala SS Engine Removal procedures?

hello to every one here, I am new to LS1TECH.com as a member. I have been previously referred to the site by THIRDGEN.org through several post that help me in my LS Engine swap. I need some help finding instructions or a service manual for engine removal of my wife 2007 Impala SS. the engine has 185,000 miles and started a "knock tick" yesterday. I took the car the a local Chevy dealership and the diagnosis is the lifters, rocker in cylinder 4. the dealership recommended engine replacement.

our previous car (2004 Grand Prix GTP) i replaced the engine and transmission in it with a purchased service manual. the service manual had me remove the hood and i had clearance on the GTP. now i know this Impala SS is different but the chassis is the same. i can pull it from the bottom, i would just like some detailed steps so i save on frustration. i want to remove the engine and transmission which i think would be easier, but could the engine be removed from the top without removing the transmission (without increasing time and difficulty of course)
Old 10-27-2014, 05:22 PM
Teching In

ok, did i do something wrong? has no one had to remove the engine from these cars? i did a search and i found only transmission removals. well i will try it and if interested i will give results. thanks
Old 10-27-2014, 05:30 PM

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts

Drop it out the bottom to much **** out the way on top
Old 10-27-2014, 09:30 PM
12 Second Club

Originally Posted by kaikarter
ok, did i do something wrong? has no one had to remove the engine from these cars? i did a search and i found only transmission removals. well i will try it and if interested i will give results. thanks