LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

Need help w/ overheating LT1

Search this Thread

Old 03-09-2009, 01:04 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Need help w/ overheating LT1

Hey fellas,

I'm a newbie with the LT1 and have a question about my Camaro. As of last night it started to overheat rather quick and I believe it's the Tstat but would like your opinions/expertise. So here is what happened..........

Started the car, drove maybe five minutes and saw the temp was above 220. Normally the car never goes above mid 180's when actually moving. I made it home, no biggie. So this morning I fired her up, ran to the store real quick.........again the temp gauge just kept climbing and never began to cool off. Each time this has happened I've noticed the heater is not blowing warm either. The upper rad hose is hot, but the lower one isn't. Fans work too when A/C is on full blast.

I recently had the water pump/opti/radiator replaced, so I dont think the issue is with those parts.

Any help is appreciated!! I'm out of free tows with AAA lol so I'd like to handle this myself.

My apologies if this is posted in the wrong forums

Thanks,
James
97 Z28
Old 03-09-2009, 01:56 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 26 Likes on 24 Posts

Well it could be a couple of things.

First thing I want to say is that, with stock programming, the low speed fan is set to turn on at 226* and the high speed fan is set to go on at 235*. There is nothing wrong if the car reaches ~226 degrees and goes back down in cycles.

If your heater is not blowing hot air, you either have a clogged heater core, or more likely you have air in the system and it needs to be properly bled.