LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

Lt1 grounding out...

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2011, 02:57 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Lt1 grounding out...

Hello all, I am new to the chevy world and new to the LT1 engine. I recently bought a 1996 Firebird Formula. I replaced the starter yesterday and when I started it the lights were acting up. I started it about 5 more times and now it will not start at all, it just rapidly makes a fairly quiet clicking noise...I assumed a wire was grounding out somewhere but for the life of me I cannot find it anywhere! all my connections are solid, I can't find any bare wires, but I have no power at all when I hook the battery back up. Any suggestions on where to start or what to do would be very much appreciated...Thanks, Kenny
Old 10-19-2011, 04:56 PM
TECH Veteran

Received 50 Likes on 44 Posts

Sounds like a dead battery. Has it been checked?
Old 10-19-2011, 05:00 PM
TECH Resident

Have your battery checked first. If all is well and can hold a charge check your alternator next. Could be a faulty starter, where did you get the new starter from?
Old 10-19-2011, 07:19 PM