LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

Coolant Problem - Not sure

Search this Thread

Old 11-11-2011, 11:15 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Coolant Problem - Not sure

Bear with me here as this is my first post in a forum and I am still new to the whole vehicle maintainance.
I have a 94 firebird formula with the LT1, and I have been losing coolant out of the system for a while but couldn't find where it was going, until the leak became bad enough to spot. It was coming from the back of the block. I took it in to a maintaince shop since I don't have the tools and they told me it was the crossover pipe that was bad. They replaced it. Upon returning the car home (it is currently at the parents house since I'm in the military), radiator fluid was spewing from the radiator cap, not the resevoir. When I was able to drive it, the temperature gauge never got above 180 (I think I have a 160 degree thermostat), and my car has never ran that cold ever. When I checked the two coolant tubes leading into the water pump, I was able to remove both of the little screws with no coolant coming out (both with engine on and off). I may not know much, but I do believe that coolant tubes are supposed to have fluid in them. Now I am not sure what is going on. It could be that fixing the leak allowed the car to run at a colder temp than what it has run previously, or that the fluid is now not circulating through the engine block which is real bad. I do not know where the engine temp sensor is, so I don't know if I am even getting the right temp reading for the system.
Does anyone have any ideas? Is there some way that I can check the coolant system to see if it is running through the block correctly?
Old 11-11-2011, 11:20 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

Sounds like the shop didn't bleed the system properly.