LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

LT1 Erratic Idle

Search this Thread

Old 09-07-2012, 11:09 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LT1 Erratic Idle

Long time lurker here and current member over on Thirdgen, I'm a college student at Lewis University working on my Airframe & Power Plant Certificate and Business Degree, so I'm very hands on. Thanks in advance for all the help.

Scott

Background on the car:

1995 Z28 T-56. This is my first LT1, I bought the car with the top half of the motor sitting in the hatch and basically all the gaskets there up are new. No egr or air pump and they are properly blocked off.

The car runs great minus the fact that when it's been running a while (operating temp at least) the idle is horrible. The tach will basically jump wildly and the car feels like it wants to die but never does.

I've replaced plugs and wires already so I'm suspecting the ICM is going. The opti is supossed to be new and looks like it but I haven't been adventurous enough to take it apart. I just rebuilt my injectors (bosch ford blue tops all ohm at 15.4 and were flow matched) haven't found any vacuum leaks, ground are good and I'm stumped.
Old 09-07-2012, 11:18 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Originally Posted by slomaro91
Long time lurker here and current member over on Thirdgen, I'm a college student at Lewis University working on my Airframe & Power Plant Certificate and Business Degree, so I'm very hands on. Thanks in advance for all the help.

Scott

Background on the car:

1995 Z28 T-56. This is my first LT1, I bought the car with the top half of the motor sitting in the hatch and basically all the gaskets there up are new. No egr or air pump and they are properly blocked off.

The car runs great minus the fact that when it's been running a while (operating temp at least) the idle is horrible. The tach will basically jump wildly and the car feels like it wants to die but never does.