LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

Best combo for 400rwhp?

Search this Thread

Old 06-10-2013, 08:24 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Best combo for 400rwhp?

97 Trans Am WS6
Im just looking for different opinions on the best way to achieve 400rwhp. (without nitrous!!!). I have LT headers, 3" exhaust(working on true duals), cc306, and TFS 195cc heads, dual roller timming chain. None of which has not been installed yet. I plan on getting a tune once I have the setup up and running. Anymore suggestions? This is my very first build so give me many pointers as possible. Thanks a lot!!!!!
Old 06-10-2013, 08:28 AM
TECH Resident

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

You should be pretty damn close once that combo is lined out if you have a t56.
Old 06-10-2013, 08:31 AM
TECH Regular

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

The combo you have is probably good for around 380-390. Send your heads to LE for porting and you'll probably be good for 410 or so.
Old 06-10-2013, 09:02 AM
TECH Fanatic

I do have a T56. So i hope that I am close. The tuner at PurPerformance (St. Louis) said he could guarantee me between 30-50hp with there tunes. Seems a little outrageous, but I'll take it! What about a TB? Most guys on here say its a waste. Any thoughts?
Old 06-10-2013, 09:11 AM
TECH Resident

at most id get the vette throttle body or whatever it is where its 54mm instead of 58? Correct me if im wrong, the only reason i got the 58mm throttle body i have is because i broke the old on trying to disassemble it and clean it up haha
Old 06-10-2013, 09:16 AM
Village Troll

Received 517 Likes on 373 Posts

400rwhp w/ a 306 is attainable if those heads are any good.
Old 06-10-2013, 10:07 AM
TECH Fanatic